May 26,2023

Is Wearing Helmet Mandatory When Riding E-Bikes: The Regulations

Some ebike riders wear helmets when they are riding and some do not. But have you ever considered if wearing a helmet is regulated by the federal and state governments? This essay may exceed your knowledge.

More than 25 states and D.C. have some sort of helmet requirement for e-bike riders and passengers. These often apply to riders under a certain age.

- Connecticut has the strictest requirement, requiring operators and passengers for all classes of e-bikes to wear protective headgear. 

- Florida, Maine and Maryland require any e-bike operator or passenger under 16 years of age to wear a helmet, while New Jersey requires every e-bike operator or passenger under 17 to wear a helmet and New York requires any e-bike operator or passenger under 14 to wear a helmet. Moreover, Delaware requires any e-bike operator or passenger under 18 to wear a helmet.

- California, Georgia, Louisiana, New York, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia require the operator and all passengers of class three electric bicycles, regardless of age, to wear protective headgear. 

- Arkansas requires operators and passengers of a class three e-bike under age 21 to wear protective headgear. 

- Colorado, Indiana, Michigan, New Hampshire, South Dakota and Utah require helmets for those under age 18 operating or riding on a class three e-bike. Additionally, in South Dakota, any passenger on a class three e-bike, regardless of age, must wear a helmet.

- Twenty-two states and D.C. have helmet laws that apply to all bicyclists, including e-bike riders, under a certain age, ranging from under 12 to 18 years of age.

- Alabama, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee and D.C. require riders under age 16 to wear a helmet.

- In California, Delaware and New Mexico, riders under 18 must wear a helmet. 

- In New Jersey, riders under 17 must wear a helmet. In West Virginia, riders under 15 must wear a helmet and, in New York, riders under 14 must wear a helmet. In Louisiana and Pennsylvania, riders under 12 must wear a helmet.

However, there are still quite many states that don't have specific regulations about wearing helmets and also many argue that helmets are useless when accidents cannot be avoided. But for your personal safety, we do recommend you to wear helmets wherever you are. Obviously, better than nothing.

Magicycle 52V Most Powerful ALL Terrain Ebike Only $1589! Limited Offer. Don't miss it! Free Shipping!

Contact us

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.